Databases & Sources
- Cyndi’s List–http://www.cyndislist.com Click on categories for sources – a categorized and cross-referenced list of links for genealogical research. Cyndi’s List supplements operating expenses with affiliate advertising.
- Consortium of Rhinebeck History— http://www.rhinebeckhistory.org, Primarily an index to documents, images, and more, available in the Consortium of Rhinebeck History collections. The index tells you how you can access the items. Some digital images are available through the site, more are being added.
- Daughters of American Revolution Genealogy Research— http://services.dar.org/public/dar_research/search/?Tab_ID=0
- NYS Church records & other source records for surname searching–http://marcomcentral.app.pti.com/printone/home.aspx?uigroup_id=12472&setcookiedetect=1 This site offers information on a number of books, but they are not available online. The local history room has these books available in their collection as well as surname files.
- Social Security Death Index– http://www.deathindexes.com/ssdi.html
- New York Heritage Digital Collections— http://www.nyheritage.org/ A collection of scanned documents, publications and images collected throughout the state. This collection is an ongoing project and new items are added on a regular basis.
- Family History Library (LDS)— www.familysearch.org FamilySearch is a genealogy organization operated by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. FamilySearch maintains a collection of records, resources, and services designed to help people learn more about their family history. FamilySearch gathers, preserves, and shares genealogical records worldwide. It offers free access to its resources and service online at FamilySearch.org. In addition, FamilySearch offers personal assistance at more than 4,500family history centers in 70 countries, including the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
- New York State Archives— http://www.archives.nysed.gov/education/index.shtml
- USGenWeb Project— http://usgenweb.org/ A group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free genealogy access for everyone.
Subscription Sites (some may offer a free trial membership)
- New England Historical and Genealogical society http://www.americanancestors.org/
- NewYork Genealogical and Biographical Society http://www.newyorkfamilyhistory.org/
- Ancestry.com – Databases including Federal Census www.Ancestry.com